Bhubaneswar, 1 Dec: Odisha Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal conferred the 2 nd edition of
prestigious Odisha Excellece Award (OEA) here this morning. Total 20 awards have
been given; 17 personalities and 3 organisations.
Addressing a great gathering of luminaries and intellectuals of the state honorable
Governor shared his experience about Odia people and the tribal groups in particular.
As the down to earth constitutional head of the state is visiting frequently to tribal-rich
districts, he expressed pleasure describing the life and attitude of the villagers. He said
that the people of Odisha are happy and satisfied whatever they have. Governor said,
when I meet people I used to ask whether they need to tell me or any help from me.
They say NO. Especially the tribal people never ask for any support or any kind of help
from the government. This land is full of satisfaction, so the people. All excellent souls
reside in this land of Jagannath. When lord jaggannath is with them, why should they
seek any support from a man like me, said honourable Governor.
Organised by leading media and publishing house Odia Media the award event was
held at Odissi Reaserch Centre auditorium.
Well-known poet and scholar Padma Vibhushan Dr Sitakant Mahapatra also graced the
occasion presided over by noted author & journalist Subhransu Panda, director, Odia
The list of awardees includes Padma Shri Prafulla kar for Music, Padma Shri
Sudarshan Sahoo for Art, Padma Shri Ileana Citaristi for Dance, Sri Jagadananda for
Social Service, Sri Haraprasad Das for Literature, Sri Ajit Das for Theatre, Smt
Mahasweta Ray for Cinema, Sri Arun Bothra for Public Service, Smt Anuradha
Biswala for Sports, Sri Sandeep Sahu for Journalism, Sri Jagadish Prasad Naik for
Entrepreneurship, Sri Arun Kumar Sabat for Motivation, Dr Akshay Kumar Rout for
Health, Sri Priyadarshi Pany for Leadership, Smt Sabita Patnaik for Education, Sri
Prashant Sahu for Information Technology and Sri Trinath Lenka for Wealth
Likewise three Institutions/organisations have been nominated for this much awaited
State Level Award. NALCO for Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Vajirao IAS
Academy for Coaching and South Orissa Voluntary Action (SOVA) for Community
Development also received Odisha Excellence Award 2019.
The Odisha Excellence Award ceremony is an annual event to recognize real heroes
and achievers of the state and felicitate them for their extraordinary excellence and
contribution in different fields of art, sports, culture, entertainment, education,
development and social service.
Odia Media organises few other annual national and state level festivals like Koraput
Literary Festival, Bhubaneswar Literary Festival, Bhasha Festival, Odisha Youth Award,

Odisha Education Award, Odisha Media Conclave and PEN IN BOOKS Young Author Award ETC..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here